Are men only allowed to play football? No. The game is common to both men and women. Here is a detailed description of how the FIFA Women’s World Cup was formed.

Football and Women:

Football is the most played game. It has been popular for the historic period. When men started to play football simultaneously, women also played it. To recognize women’s teams, the Women’s Association Football Committee was formed in 1920. 176 teams participated in the tournament throughout the world. It was a golden time for the women’s football team, and England won the match. 

Even after being more prominent than men’s football matches (one match drew a 53,000-strong crowd), women’s football in England was banned in 1921. The association members stated that concerns had been made as to whether football being played by women is not healthy for them. The Council felt urged to submit the law and cleared their opinion that the football game is unsuitable for females and should not be encouraged. 

The women’s team players said the game was banned due to jealousy problems and sought more attention than men’s football matches. Football for women was banned from 1921 to 1970, a period of nearly 51 years.

The Powerful reentry:

The Women’s Football Association (WFA) was founded in 1969 with 44 member clubs. The FA Council removed the ban on women playing on affiliated club premises in 1971.

Then, many matches were held, and football associations were formed. Finally, the FIFA Women’s World Cup was organized in 1991. In the first match, 16 teams participated. Then it was raised to 24 teams; now, 32 teams are under Women’s FIFA. Teams will be selected based on inter-tournament matches, which will take place for three years. Then in the fourth year, selected 30 teams and the host country will be 31 and 32 teams in the match. The host country’s team will default. 

Six continental zones come under women’s FIFA, such as Africa, Asia, North and Central America and Caribbean, South America, Oceania, and Europe, and teams will be selected from this continental association. Eight matches have been held, and the United States has won four matches and has the highest score. Then Germany won two matches, followed by Japan and Norway, who each won one match.

Also read: List of World Cups around the world

Winning teams hosted countries: From 1991 to 2019

  • 1991: China’s first Women’s FIFA World Cup was held in 1991. The United States won the match against Norway with a score of 2:1. 
  • 1995: Sweden hosted the second match, and Norway won against Germany with a score of 2:0
  • 1999: the United States hosted the third match, and the United States won against China with a score of 6:5. In the first match, both teams failed to score, so a second match was held.
  • 2003: Again next year, the United States got the chance to host the fourth match, and Germany won against Sweden with a score of 2:1
  • 2007: China hosted the fifth match, and Germany won the match against Brazil with a score of 2:0.
  • 2011: Germany hosted the sixth match, and Japan won against the United States with a score of 3:1. The first was a draw, and both teams scored 2:2. 
  • 2015: Canada hosted the seventh match, and the United States won against Japan with a score of 5:2.
  • 2019: France hosted the eighth match, and the United States won against the Netherlands with a score of 2:0

Related: FIBA Basketball World Cup

2023 Women’s FIFA World Cup:

The ninth Women’s FIFA World Cup 2023 will be held in Australia and New Zealand. Until 2019, there were only 24 teams. In the 2023 World Cup, 32 teams are going to participate. Australia and New Zealand are the default teams, and the remaining 30 teams are selected from a pool of 176. 

Teams selected for the 2023 Women’s World Cup:

AFC Women’s Asian Cup6
Africa Women’s Cup of Nations4
CONCACAF Women’s Championship4
Copa América Femenina3
OFC Women’s Nations Cup1
FIFA Women’s World Cup qualification (UEFA)11
Inter-confederation play-offs3

Wait for the great show of the Women’s FIFA World Cup 2023. You will become part of it and find it more interesting than the Men’s FIFA World Cup.