Football is the game of happiness and is the most played by people. It is the only game with many fans and players from all over the world.

The History of Football:

The current football game was invented in the 19th century but was played even before. The football history was quite fascinating to know. There were no proper rules for playing it, and, according to their wishes, people would change the rules. Then, football was banned because it was violent to play. People don’t find sufficient time for it, and industry urbanization is another reason for banning the game. Later, in the 19th century, the game again entered the gaming field. 

It was the time were football rules were formed. It is played between the schools of Winchester, Charterhouse, and Eton. Each school follows different rules, making it difficult for students to play. So in 1843, Cambridge University formed the standardized rules for the football game. Then, in 1863, the Football Association was formed, and Sheffield and London’s clubs played their first match in 1866. 

Football was first called soccer. Then, in 2005, Australia’s association of football changed its name to football to conform with the general international usage of the term.

Related: Types of cricket in the world

General rules of football:

There are 11 players in the football game. Ten players and one goalkeeper need to be on the field. Two teams will compete with each other to win the match. The football should not be touched by hand; players must kick it in the foot or head. The player will receive a penalty if someone touches the ball (except the goalkeeper) with their hand. The game will last for 90 minutes with two halves. Each match will go for 45 minutes with a 15-minute break. Then, another half match takes place. Players need to utilize this timing and score maximum goals. 

A ball needs to be kicked 3 meters away from the goalpost. A team with lots of points will be considered the winner of the game. 

Related: FIBA Basketball World Cup

The Most Awaited World Cup:

The International Federation of Football Association (FIFA) was formed in 1904 in Paris, France. The headquarters of FIFA is located in Switzerland. Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland were the first member countries. At present, 211 countries are under the FIFA organization. The organization is divided into six regions. They are Africa (56 members), Asia (47 members), Europe (55 members), North, Central America and the Caribbean (41 members), Oceania (13 members), and South America (10 members). Under these six regions, 211 countries will be divided according to their zone. 

The FIFA flag was blue with the logo in the middle. The flag was first flown in Russia in 2018. The anthem for FIFA was composed by Franz Lambert, a German composer, in 1994 and was later modified by Rob May and Simon Hill. This song will be played before the tournament begins. 

FIFA has many categories, such as the FIFA World Cup, FIFA Women’s World Cup, FIFA U-20 World Cup, FIFA U-17 World Cup, Football at the Summer Olympics, FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup, FIFA Women’s U-17 World Cup, FIFA Futsal World Cup, FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup, and FIFA Club World Cup.

Related: The athletic World Cup

The first match:

The first FIFA World Cup was conducted in the year 1930 in Uruguay. Thirteen teams registered for the tournament, but only a few teams participated. Uruguay finally won the match against Argentina. After that, the FIFA World Cup matches will occur every four years in different countries. The host country will be chosen based on the FIFA members’ voting. Qatar will host the next FIFA World Cup match in December 2022. 

Blow up the whistle hard to enjoy the FIFA World Cup. It’s not just a game; it’s a pep rally for players. 

Also read: List of World Cups around the world