Hockey world cup

Last Updated:

Hockey is a game of stamina. Players play the game with total energy to show passion and love for the game. The uniqueness of the game attracts players.

The Historical Beginning of Hockey:

The hockey was called Hoquet. It is a French word referred to as “shepherd stick.” Then in each country, it is called by different names, like hurley, hurling, bandy, shinty, or shinny. Finally, hockey committee members finalized it as hockey in 1773. There are many historical backgrounds for hockey. Some say Egyptians first played the game. In their tombs, we can find drawings of hockey games. But there is no proper evidence that it was about 4000 years ago. 

According to another source, various museums contain data indicating that the Romans, Greeks, and Aztecs played a form of the game several centuries before Columbus arrived in the New World. Another source claims that Windsor, N.S., is the birthplace of hockey.

This proof was obtained through a novel written by Windsor native Thomas Chandler Haliburton. He mentioned the Hurley game, which is now known as hockey. The father of hockey is James Creighton. He moved from Halifax, Nova Scotia, to Montreal in 1872, introducing skates, hockey sticks, and a game with simple rules. In 1875, he was the first to organize an ice hockey game in Montreal.

Related: List of World Cups around the world

Rules used in hockey:

Hockey is usually divided into two types, field hockey and ice hockey. In outdoor hockey, 11 players, including the goalkeeper, were found, and in ice hockey, only six players are allowed to play the game. The two teams need to strike the puck (ball) into the goalpost. They need to use only the hockey stick to score a goal. If the player touches the puck with their foot or other body parts, the goal is not considered, and a penalty will be given. Only the goalkeeper has the right to stop the puck with their foot. 

A field hockey game lasts 60 minutes (for 15 minutes each). Before 2019, matches were 70 minutes long, with a five-minute halftime break after 35 minutes. Ice hockey is divided into three 20-minute periods, with a 15-minute intermission between the first and second. In each period, teams switch ends. A five-minute spontaneous overtime period is played if a medal-round game is tied.

Related: The athletic World Cup

Field Hockey World Cup:

The International Hockey Federation was formed in the year 1924. Its headquarters are in Switzerland; after 2005, it shifted to Belgium. This FIH will organize the Hockey World Cup match every four years. Paul Léautey was the first president of the committee. During the FIH formation, Austria, Belgium, Czechoslovakia, France, Hungary, Spain, and Switzerland were the members of it. In 1927, a women’s hockey team was also formed with the members of Australia, Denmark, England, Ireland, Scotland, South Africa, the United States, and Wales. Currently, 137 members are under FIH. 

The first Hockey World Cup match was held in Spain in 1971. First, Pakistan was chosen as the host country, but Spain got the chance to host due to political issues. Pakistan won the game against Spain. The next FIH is planned to be held in India in 2023 at Odisha’s Bhubaneswar and Rourkela.

Hockey is mostly famous in India and Pakistan. Currently, 16 teams are in hockey. In this, the Netherlands has won eight times and finished fourth four times. 

The team must enter the Hockey World Cup based on the following rounds. The championship teams compete in a preliminary round, and then the top eight competitors in a playoff medal round, with the winning team crowned World Champions.

Related: FIBA Basketball World Cup

Ice Hockey World Cup:

The Ice Hockey World Cup was formed in 1992. There are 32 teams in it. The first match was held in 1996 in the United States, and they won the match against Canada. The game was not organized regularly after 1996. In 2004, the next match was hosted. And again, in 2016, it took place. In both these matches, Canada won the championship. The next game will take place in 2024. 

Related: The Football world cup

Famous hockey player:

Wayne Gretzky broke numerous records, most prominently scoring an extraordinary 894 goals. With the Edmonton Oilers, he won four Stanley Cups (1984-85, 1987-88) and was named NHL MVP nine times (1980-87, 1989).

“A good hockey player plays where the puck is. A great hockey player plays where the puck is going to be.”

Be a great player and show the world you are the best in hockey. 

Alloy Press

Alloy Press is an information bank trying to keep all the information up to date for all the users in the universe for free. Your contribution will play a vital role. Click Contribute and submit your ideas for adding new posts and pages to Alloy Press.