Cricket is not a game; it’s a soul of life. Everyone loves to play it, and there is no age limit. It’s time to explore the game of spirit. 

How was cricket born?

Step back in time to 16th-century south-east England, where the seeds of cricket were sown. From the simple joys of a children’s game, using sticks to hit balls, cricket evolved. Creckett was spelled Cricket. The name is based on the Middle Dutch krick (-e), which means a stick; the Old English cricc or cryce, which means a crutch or staff; or the French word criquet, which means a wooden post. Charles Richardson, a Brunel pupil and the first Chief Engineer of the Severn Railway Corridor, invented the existing style of a wooden stick pieced into a willow blade via a trimmed ply in the 1880s.

The first cricket balls were made between 1760 and 1841 by generations of the Duke family, who ran a cottage business at Redleaf Hill in Penshurst, Kent, during the period. Duke and Son received a Royal Trademark for their cricket balls from King George IV in 1775. Cricket uses three different-colored balls. The B red ball is lighter than the white ball, and ballers can sometimes take advantage of it. The cherry-red color of the cricket ball makes it more effective during any daylight match.

By the 18th century, it had captured hearts, being played not just by kids but by adults too. The game’s first international clash, England vs. Australia, marked history in 1877. Fast forward to today, and cricket has woven its way into the global fabric, captivating millions with its timeless charm and thrilling matches.

Related: List of World Cups around the world

Different types of Cricket are:

Cricket was grouped into three major types:

  • World Cup (or) One Day International ODI – 50 overs per side
  • Test Matches – Played over 5 days
  • Twenty20 – 20 overs per side

Related: Qatar World Cup 2022

World Cup (or) One Day International ODI – 50 overs per side

The International Cricket Council organizes the match every four years, with tentative eligibility rounds leading – up to a finals game. The first World Cup was held in England in 1975. West Indies won the first World Cup match.

A One Day International is a type of cricket game played between two international teams in which each team will play a fixed number of overs, currently 50, and the game can last up to nine hours. At first, the overs are not fixed. They play 40, 45, and even 60 overs too. Then, it is fixed to 50 overs for a one-day international match. As the name suggests, a one-day match is a one-inning game played on a single day. The competition is held every four years. 

Sir Donald Bradman was the first person to initiate the One Day International match in 1971. The first ODI was played between England and Australia in 1971 in Melbourne, and Australia won the game by five wickets. The ODI is played both day and night. The night match started in 1979. Sachin Tendulkar was the one who had the highest score in an ODI and was the first to score 200. Australia has won most of the matches, but South Africa has the highest winning of 63.6%. 

Test Matches – Played over 5 days

Test cricket is the longest game and is deemed the game’s greatest test. Test matches are held between national representative teams awarded verification by the International Cricket Council. Each team plays two innings over a maximum of five days in a test match. Here a single bowler delivers a set of six balls. Each inning has an unlimited number of overs. Test cricket matches are played over five days, each day lasting six hours and requiring at least 90 overs to be bowled.

In 1877, the first test match was played at Melbourne Cricket Ground. The game was held between Australia and England. The Australian team won the toss and batted first. Australia won the game, and the match lasted for two days. Australia has a great record in test matches. The team won the highest of 393 of their 830 tests (47.24%).

Related: The Athletic World Cup

Twenty20 – 20 overs per side

A Twenty20 International (T20I) is Cricket played between two International Cricket Council (ICC) teams in which each team will play a highest of twenty overs. Twenty20 (T20) cricket is a simplified game format. The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) initiated it at the professional level in 2003 for an inter-county tournament. In a T20 game, each team has one inning limited to 20 overs.

The first T20 International was held in South Africa in 2007. India won the match against Pakistan. The 20-20 match will be held every two years once.

Related: FIBA Basketball World Cup

FAQ about Types of Cricket

  1. What is the difference between Test cricket and One-Day International (ODI)?

    Test cricket is played over five days, while ODIs are limited-overs matches, usually played with 50 overs per side. Test matches focus on endurance and strategy, while ODIs emphasize quick scoring.

  2. How many types of cricket formats are there, and what are they?

    There are three main formats in cricket: Test cricket, One-Day Internationals (ODIs), and Twenty20 (T20) cricket.

  3. What is the maximum number of overs a bowler can bowl in a T20 match?

    In T20 cricket, a bowler can bowl a maximum of four overs in a single match.

  4. How many players are there in a cricket team during a T20 match?

    In a T20 cricket match, each team consists of 11 players, with a combination of batsmen, bowlers, and all-rounders.

  5. How many times has India won the Cricket World Cup?

    India has won the cricket world cup twice: in 1983 against West Indies and 2011 against Sri Lanka.